Eight new private universities will begin to take form after being approved by the Federal Government.

The Federal Executive Council approved the new universities following a presentation from the Federal Ministry of Education.  The approval increases the number of private universities in Nigeria from 61 to 69, with the number of universities now at 151.

The 8 newly approved universities are:

– Deeper Christian Life Ministry’s Anchor University, Ayobo, Lagos
– Clitter House Nigeria Limited’s Arthur Jarvis University, Akpabuyo, Cross River
– Seventh Day Adventist Church’s Clifford University, Owerrinta, Abia
– African Thinkers Community of Inquiry College of Education, Enugu’s Coal City University, Enugu
– Modern Morgy and Sons Limited’s Crown-Hill University, Eiyenkorin, Kwara
– Order of Preachers, Nigerian Dominican Community’s Dominican University, Ibadan
– Kola Daisi Foundation’s Kola Daisi University, Ibadan
– The Good Idea Education Foundation’s Legacy University, Okija

“The Ministry of Education submitted a memo to Council this morning seeking approval for eight private universities as recommended by NUC after very serious comprehensive and exhaustive compliance to the conditions that warrant such approval,” Minister of State for Education, Professor Anthony Anwuka said.

“While approving these universities for licensing provisionally for three years, the Universities should be mentored by some existing older Universities in Nigeria. And those will include: Anchor University will be mentored by University of Lagos, Akoka; Arthur Jarvis University will be mentored by University of Calabar; Cliffored will be mentored by University of Agriculture, Umudike; Coal City University will be mentored by University of Nigeria, Nsukka.

“Crown-Hill University will be mentored by University of Ilorin. Dominican University will be mentored by University of Ibadan.   Kola Daisi University will mentored by University of Ibadan. Legacy University will be mentored by Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka.”