The names of 9 members of the National Youth Service Corps who drowned in Taraba have been released by the scheme.

The sad incident occurred at the River Mayo-Selbe in Gashaka Local Government Area of Taraba State.

The corps members were part of a 22-man group that embarked on a picnic near River Mayo-Selbe penultimate week.

Unfortunately, they were overwhelmed by a sudden increase in the water volume and surge of the river.

ALSO: NYSC DG warns corps members: Collect clearance before organizing any parties

A list of the nine corps members from NYSC Headquarters in Abuja yesterday, indicates that four of them were from the South-South, one from the North-West and the rest four from the South-East.

Their names are Ucheonye Nkadi, Delta; Ijeh Chile, Delta; Irorobulor Blessing, Delta; Solomon Miracle, Edo, and Adams Zipporah, Kaduna. The others are Ojimba Matilda, Imo; Maduike Thelma, Imo; Onoduagu Arinze, Enugu, and Ezeamama Ifeanyi, Anambra.

A condolence register has been opened in honour of the drowned corps members at NYSC Headquarters.

Get more stories like this on Twitter Facebook.