Criticism follows new Zimbabwe president Emmerson Mnangagwa’s cabinet.

Newly instated Zimbabwean president Emmerson Mnangagwa announced his cabinet on Thursday, made up of both new and old faces.

Mnangagwa appointed Patrick Chinamasa to the finance and economic development ministry. Chinamasa has been in acting capacity in that portfolio since November 27.

Obert Mpofu was appointed home affairs and culture minister, Air Marshall Perrance Shiri lands agriculture and rural resettlement, Lazarus Dokora retained in the primary and secondary education ministry, while David Parirenyatwa was also not affected in the health and child care ministry.

Kembo Mohadi was moved from state security to defence, security and war veterans. Professor Amon Murwira, a new face, was appointed higher education, science and technology development minister.

ALSO: Emmerson Mnangagwa sworn in as Zimbabwe president

Kazembe Kazembe was appointed sports, arts and recreation minister, Mike Bimha retained the industry and commerce portfolio, only that enterprise development aspect was added to it.

Small and medium enterprises minister Sithembiso Nyoni was moved to women and youth affairs, causing controversy on social media as people felt Nyoni, 68, was too old for the position of youth affairs.

July Moyo, a top Mnangagwa ally in the ruling Zanu PF party, was appointed local government, public works and national housing minister, while Supa Mandiwanzira retained the information communication technology ministry, but with cyber security added to it.

The labour and social welfare ministry went to Professor Clever Nyathi, as Joram Gumbo retained the transport and infrastructural development ministry.

Winston Chitando got the mines and mining development ministry and Oppah Muchinguri-Kashiri retained the environment, water and climates portfolio.

Priscah Mupfumira, who was kicked out of government in the last cabinet reshuffle a few weeks ago, bounced back as tourism and hospitality minister, while Simon Khaya Moyo, previously with the information, media and broadcasting services ministry, was moved to energy and power development.