Rafa Nadal won a historic 10th Grand Slam title at Roland Garros as he beat Stan Wawrinka 6-2, 6-3, 6-1.

The title was the 15th Grand Slam title of his career, and becomes the first man or woman in the Open era to have won a Grand Slam tournament 10 times.

The match lasted just two hours and five minutes, and Wawrinka, 32, was beaten in a major final for the first time after winning his first three.

Wawrinka, who may have been feeling the effects of an epic semi-final against Andy Murray, started slowly and could not get into the match.

ALSO: Roger Federer Confirms He Will Play At The 2017 French Open

It is the third time Nadal will win a title without dropping a single set.

Nadal moves above Pete Sampras on the list of all-time Grand Slam winners into second place behind Roger Federer, who beat the Spaniard to win his 18th at the Australian Open in January.

Only Australia’s Margaret Court has more victories at a single Grand Slam tournament, with 11 Australian Open wins between 1960 and 1973.

Rafael Nadal, speaking on court, said: “I play my best in all events but the feeling I have here is impossible to describe and you can’t compare it.

“The nerves and adrenaline I feel on this court is impossible to compare. It’s the most important event in my career.”